6870 Board of Governors of Community Colleges
Mission Statement

The Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges was established in 1967 to provide statewide leadership to California's 72 community college districts, which operate 112 community colleges. The Board has 17 members appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate. Twelve members are appointed to six-year terms, and two student members, two faculty members, and one classified member are appointed to two-year terms.

The objectives of the Board are:

  • To provide direction and coordination to California's community colleges.
  • To apportion state funds to districts and ensure prudent use of public resources.
  • To improve district and campus programs through informational and technical services on a statewide basis.

Since community college programs drive the need for infrastructure investment, each community college district has a related capital outlay program to support this need. For specifics on the community college capital outlay program, see "Infrastructure Overview."