2600 California Transportation Commission
Mission Statement

The California Transportation Commission (Commission) is responsible for the programming and allocating of funds for the construction and improvements of highways, passenger rail systems, and transit systems throughout California. The Commission also advises and assists the Secretary of the Transportation Agency and the Legislature in formulating and evaluating state policies and plans for California's transportation programs.

The Commission consists of eleven voting members and two non-voting ex-officio members. Of the eleven voting members, nine are appointed by the Governor, one is appointed by the Senate Rules Committee, and one is appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly. The two ex-officio non-voting members are appointed from the State Senate and Assembly, usually by the respective chairs of the transportation policy committee in each house.